Skip to Main Content

LIBRARY WEBSITE: Accreditation New - DM edit











Go to >> Requirements set by specialist colleges >> Hospital Accreditation


Specialist accreditation

Library Services recognises the importance of supporting vocational training at NT Health. We undertake to provide support as outlined within the approved accreditation standards of specialist medical colleges assessed by the Australian Medical Council, and to provide resources and services that fulfil NT Health obligations also set out in these accreditation agreements.

Go to Requirements set by specialist colleges 4

Read more about Hospital Accreditation 4

Services to support specialist training


We conduct comprehensive literature searches to support patient care, research projects, program or service development and more.  Place a request online via the Literature Search request form and we will conduct a search on your behalf and send the best articles directly to your inbox.


We provide advice and support in gathering background information for project work or we can provide advice and assistance in undertaking systematic literature searches, tools for critical appraisal and managing references.  Assistance can be requested through our Book a Librarian form.

Library has a selection of training rooms and quiet spaces to sit exams. We can provide invigilation services including:

  • Liaising with the College’s admin prior to exam
  • Accepting  the exam (either mail or electronically)
  • Booking a room in the library
  • Liaising with the examinee for regarding date/time
  • Pre exam test of  equipment for virtual exams
  • Supervise the exam and note start and finish times
  • Scan and/or sending exam back to college
  • Quiet study spaces with videoconferencing, internet and Wi-Fi

An important condition of many colleges is that trainees have access to quiet areas to complete their work or research. Library provides access to an quiet spaces and training rooms that are well equipped with computers, videoconferencing and internet.

Regular scheduled training sessions are run throughout the year, or library staff are available to deliver face-to-face group sessions or one-to-one assistance in using our resources.

The library has resource sharing networks across Australia and will source and supply articles on your behalf (subject to availability and cost) with our resource delivery service.

Requirements set by specialty colleges

The AMC is responsible for accrediting education providers and their programs of study for the medical profession. 


Accreditation Requirements NT Health Library Resources



ANZCA handbook for accreditation


The Australasian College of Dermatologists

Accreditation standards for training positions

Emergency Medicine


FACEM Training Program Accreditation requirements

Intensive Care

College of Intensive Care Medicine of Australia and New Zealand

IC-3 Minimum Standards for Intensive Care Units Seeking Accreditation

IC-33 Minimum Criteria for hospitals seeking accreditation for foundation training for intensive care

Obstetrics & Gynaecology


Accreditation Standards and Guidelines for Hospitals in the FRANZCOG Training Program



Standards for Ophthalmology Training Posts


Australian Orthopaedics Association

Accreditation standards for hospitals and training positions


Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia

Accreditation of sites for training programs


Royal Australian College of Physicians (includes 33 training specialties)

Training provider standards


Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists

Accreditation of training posts

Rural & Remote Medicine


Supervisors and training post standards


Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists

Accreditation standards for linked sites (Clinical Radiology Training)

Radiation Oncology

Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists

Radiation Oncology Accreditation Standards for training network sites



HTP Accreditation Standards and RACS HTP Accreditation Standards for review

Hospital accreditation

National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards

With the release of the second edition of the National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards in late 2017, all NT Hospitals will be assessed during hospital accreditation according to these updated standards. Mandatory short notice assessments to the National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards will commence from July 2023 - see Short notice accreditation assessment  Facts sheet 17

The National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards have been developed to protect the public from harm and improve the quality of health service provision. The NSQHS Standards provide a nationally consistent statement about the level of care consumers can expect from health services.


Links to the NSQHS Standards

The following searches have been developed, tested and endorsed as part of the HeLiNS : health libraries for the National Standards - outcomes of a national research project, a joint initiative of HLA and HLI (Health Libraries Inc).


They are not intended to be comprehensive, but aim to provide high relevance. The base search for each topic focuses on a hospital setting and is limited to the last 5 years.

Return to top of page