Skip to Main Content

Aboriginal Health: Home

Aboriginal Health Subject Guide

 

Aboriginal Health Books


Aboriginal fields of practice
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples' healthcare
Burda-burda Balayi health professionals and Indigenous health : working at the interface
Community-led research : walking new pathways together
Growing up Aboriginal in Australia
The little red yellow black book an introduction to Indigenous Australia
Routledge handbook of indigenous wellbeing
The handbook of therapeutic care for children evidence-informed approaches to working with traumatized children and adolescents in foster, kinship and adoptive care
Trans dilemmas living in Australia's remote areas and in aboriginal communities
Yatdjuligin  Aboriginal and Torres Strait islander nursing and midwifery care

» Search our complete e-Book collection by title or subject: AccessMedicine, ClinicalKey and ClinicalKey Nursing 

» Explore unique titles from our Aboriginal Health Collection on Indigenous Health

» Browse the collection for more books on: 

 

 

Remote Primary Health Care Manuals


 

 

           

 

The Remote Primary Health Care Manuals support and promote good clinical practice in primary health care in remote health across central, northern, and remote Australia. These great resources are available to all, in hardcopy and online.

 

Aboriginal Language Books


 

 

           

 

Explore more language resources in our collection.

More resources for community languages:

 

Aboriginal Health Journals


 

International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health
International Journal for Equity in Health
SSM - Population Health
Social Science & Medicine
Australian and New Zealand Journal of Public Health
Australian Journal of Primary Health

Evaluate the research with The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Quality Appraisal Tool and the Quality Appraisal Tool Companion Document, which offers guidance on how to interpret the tool when critically appraising articles. 

» Read the latest published literature by NT Health staff on Indigenous Health. Articles provide an insight into chronic disease, clinical practice and long term care of First Nations People in the Territory.

 

Key Online Resources


 

  • Provides evidence to inform practice and policy in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health.
  • Search categories for health facts, health topics, determinants, health system, population groups and locations
  • Cultural Safety for Health Professionals Portal
  • Standard treatment manual.
  • Women's business manual.
  • Remote and rural practice manual.
  • Medicines book.
  • The reference book.

 

  • National Community Controlled Health Organisation.
  • Advice and guidance on policy and budget.
  • Advocates community developed solutions for quality of life and health outcomes.

 

  • Population data.
  • National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Survey.
  • Housing statistics.
  • Language statistics.
  • Education statistics.
  • View data and reports relating to Aboriginal Australians.
  • Usage of Indigenous-specific primary health care services.
  • Chronic disease management indicators.
  • Data on ear and hearing health programs and oral health programs.
  • Maternal and child health indicators and much more...

 

  • Lowitja Institute is Australia’s national institute for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health research.
  • Search current and previous research projects.
  • Ethics information for conducting Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander research.

 

  • The national institution providing exclusive focus on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander history, culture and heritage.

 

  • A conversation guide to help health professionals yarn about heart health
  • Shared decision making tool.
  • Reduce the risk of heart attack and stroke

Guide Champion

Contact the library if you'd like to champion this guide!

Key Databases for Aboriginal Health

DVD Resources

Looking from a new perspective to create a brighter future

This DVD has been designed to try and help health services staff understand Aboriginal people better, to give a brief insight into their culture, and to hopefully help break down cultural barriers. By seeing through the eyes of an Aboriginal patient within our hospital system, it can help us better understand their needs and improve our methods of communication and in turn our service delivery. click links below to watch video.

Explore the Library's collection of DVDs relating to Aboriginal Health. See list of DVDs available for loan.

Mobile Apps

CommDoc

CommDoc is a language tool developed for GP Registrars and other health professionals working in communities across the Northern Territory, to culturally enhance interactions with Aboriginal patients.

For more information about the CommDoc app, including a list of languages covered, go to https://commdoc.racgp.org.au/

 


 

Yolnu-matha Health Dictionary

This multilingual dictionary contains clearly explained, basic information on anatomy, pathologies and procedures in Plain English, and the Yolŋu languages, Dhuwal, Dhuwala and Dhaŋu. The app is free and contains easy-to-navigate content in audio, text and picture form.

Download the app Apple, Android.