A focus on: COVID-19: Specialities and COVID-19

Choose your speciality from the list below:

Anaesthesia

Coronary Care

Emergency Medicine

Intensive Care

Medical Imaging

Mental Health

Nursing

Oncology

Palliative Care

Paediatrics

Respiratory Care

• COVID-19 updates - Australian Society of Anaesthetists. The Australian Society of Anaesthetists (ASA) COVID-19 Working Group updates for anaesthetists. 
• Clinical Resources - Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists. Resources to support preparation for high risk and or sero-positive COVID-19 patients Please make sure that you are aware of any guidance available from your department, institution, state or national bodies and be alert to changing advice.
• Information, guidance and resources supporting the understanding and management of Coronavirus (COVID-19) - Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine, Intensive Care Society, Association of Anaesthetists, Royal College of Anaesthetists. Please Note: No more content published on this website after 31/12/21. Content relevant to anaesthetic and critical care management during the COVID-19 pandemic continues to be published on the websites of the four organisations behind this website.
• Coronavirus - guidance for anaesthesia and perioperative care providers - World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologist.

Live PubMed searches provide a set of results that can be modified by removing or adding words to those in the white search box in the centre of the results page. Contact the library if you require assistance in changing the search:

• Cardiology

Online web portals

• CC's COVID-19 Hub - American College of Cardiology. Provides COVID-19 clinical guidance for the global cardiovascular care team.
• COVID-19 Content: An AHA Compedium - American Heart Association (AHA). The American Heart Association is working to ensure optimal care for patients with cardiovascular disease who contract coronavirus (COVID-19). Patients with underlying cardiovascular diseases appear to have an increased risk for adverse outcomes with COVID-19. Here are some helpful resources for health systems, clinics, care providers, patients and the public.
• COVID-19 Clinical Guidance for Global Cardiovascular Clinicians – Journal of the American College of Cardiology - Journal of the American College of Cardiology. Access to JACC Journals' recently accepted manuscripts for global cardiovascular clinicians.
• COVID-19 and Cardiology - European Society of Cardiology. An array of useful resources, updated regularly

Live PubMed searches provide a set of results that can be modified by removing or adding words to those in the white search box in the centre of the results page. Contact the library if you require assistance in changing the search:

• Emergency medicine
• Emergency medicine - intubation

Online web portals

• COVID-19 - Australian College of Emergency Medicine. Updated regularly to reflect the most current information available. We encourage you to visit this webpage regularly to obtain the latest available COVID-19 information as it relates to College activity.
• Browse COVID-19 resources - EB Medicine. 

Live PubMed searches provide a set of results that can be modified by removing or adding words to those in the white search box in the centre of the results page. Contact the library if you require assistance in changing the search:

• Intensive Care

Online Web Portals

• COVID-19 Resources for Critical Care Professionals - ANZICS (Australia and New Zealand Intensive Care Society).
• Cochrane Special Collections: Coronavirus (COVID-19): evidence relevant to critical care - Cochrane Library.
• Information, guidance and resources supporting the understanding and management of Coronavirus (COVID-19) - Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine, Intensive Care Society, Association of Anaesthetists, Royal College of Anaesthetists. Content relevant to anaesthetic and critical care management during the COVID-19 pandemic continues to be published on the websites of the four organisations behind this website.
• Clinical effectiveness - Information for clinicians - UpToDate. Evidence summaries

Live PubMed searches provide a set of results that can be modified by removing or adding words to those in the white search box in the centre of the results page. Contact the library if you require assistance in changing the search:

• Imaging

Online web portals

• COVID-19 updates - Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists. These pages contains advice in relation to the impact of the COVID-19 outbreak on College activities, as well as links to useful information and resources for clinical radiologists and radiation oncologists.

• BSTI NHSE COVID-19 radiology decision support tool - British Society of Thoracic Imaging. The BSTI in collaboration with NHS England are pleased to announce the COVID-19 Radiology Decision Support Tool.  Please use this to decide how best to use imaging in the work-up of COVID-19 patients.

• Coronavirus (COVID-19): what the RCR is doing - Royal College of Radiologists (UK)

Live PubMed searches provide a set of results that can be modified by removing or adding words to those in the white search box in the centre of the results page. Contact the library if you require assistance in changing the search:

• Mental Health

Clinical Key evidence summaries. Find the latest evidence and clinical information from ClinicalKey, simply use the limiters on the left to view a specific resource type

• Covid -19 psychology
• Covid-19 mental health

Online web portals

• COVID-19 information hub - Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists. This page provides regularly updated information about the RANZCP response to the COVID-19 pandemic.
• COVID-19: Guidance for clinicians - Royal College of Psychiatrists. As the NHS response to Coronavirus (COVID-19) moves quickly, the College is working with NHS England and Improvement (NHSE/I) to update guidance for psychiatrists and other healthcare professionals working in mental health settings.

Tool for individuals (clinicians and/or the public)

• Coronavirus (COVID-19) information for Australians - Australian Psychological Society, including: Tips for coping with coronavirus anxiety and Maintaining your mental health during social isolation
• Free guide to living with worry and anxiety amidst global uncertainty - Psychology Tools 19 March 2020. Translated into 37 languages. We have included a mixture of psychoeducation about normal and excessive worry, lots of normalization, and a selection of practical exercises that you, your clients, or anyone can use to manage worry and maintain well-being in these uncertain times. Please feel free to share this widely.

Listen 

• Covid-19 and mental health care - Medical Journal of Australia

Live PubMed searches provide a set of results that can be modified by removing or adding words to those in the white search box in the centre of the results page. Contact the library if you require assistance in changing the search:

• Nursing & Midwifery

Clinical Key for Nursing. Find the latest evidence and clinical information from ClinicalKey for Nursing, simply use the limiters on the left to view a specific resource type.

• Browse topic: COVID-19 

Online web portals

• Covid-19 guidance for nurses and midwives - Nursing and Midwifery Board - Ahpra
• COVID-19 advice and guidance - Royal College of Nursing
• COVID-19 Nurses Support Strategy - Australian College of Nursing. Includes refresher program scholarships, COVID-19 online nursing discussion forum, Resources, Australian College of Nursing policy publications and NurseClick articles.
• COVID-19 Information for Midwives - Australian College of Midwives. Includes resources for professional development as well as web resources, videos, journal articles, and resources for women. 

Listen

• Australian Nursing Podcast
• Nursing Review Coronavirus Podcast

Live PubMed searches provide a set of results that can be modified by removing or adding words to those in the white search box in the centre of the results page. Contact the library if you require assistance in changing the search:

• Cancer

Online web portals

• COVID-19 and Cancer -  Australian Government Cancer Care. Includes information on vaccines, young people, and service implications for the cancer care sector. Also provides patient information for people affected by cancer and Cancer and COVID-19 - what it means for our Mob
• COVID-19 Updates & Resources - Australia and New Zealand Transplant and Cellular Therapies. Includes lists of clinician resources, webinars, podcasts, vaccine resources and recently published articles.
• ASCO Coronavirus Resources - American Society of Clinical Oncology. Includes clinician and patient information.
• COVID-19 Resources - British Gynaecological Cancer Society. 

Live PubMed searches provide a set of results that can be modified by removing or adding words to those in the white search box in the centre of the results page. Contact the library if you require assistance in changing the search:

• Palliative Care 

Online web portals

• Covid-19 Updates - Palliative Care Australia
• Palliative Care and COVID-19 - palliAGED
• Guidance on palliative care in the Covid-19 context - Australia and New Zealand Society of Palliative Medicine (ANZSPM)

Live PubMed searches provide a set of results that can be modified by removing or adding words to those in the white search box in the centre of the results page. Contact the library if you require assistance in changing the search:

• Paediatrics 1 

• Paediatrics 2 

Online web portals

• Clinical Practice Guidelines: COVID-19 - Royal Children's Hospital (VIC, Australia)
• Paediatric emergency care during the COVID-19 pandemic - Queensland Health. Contains information specific to the emergency care of children during the COVID-19 outbreak.
• Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health - COVID-19 - Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health. 
• Critical Updates on COVID-19 - American Academy of Pediatrics.

Live PubMed searches provide a set of results that can be modified by removing or adding words to those in the white search box in the centre of the results page. Contact the library if you require assistance in changing the search:

• Respiratory medicine

Online web portals 

• Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19): The ATS Response - American Thoracic Society
• COVID-19 information for the respiratory community - British Thoracic Society
• COVID-19 Information and Resources - European Respiratory Society. Search "COVID" in the search bar to browse documents, guidelines and much more on the topic. 

Do you need:

• a Literature Search?   
• Help setting up a jourrnal alert?
• Help with a database search?

Contact library staff for assistance.