Skip to Main Content

Images & Videos: Images - By Topic

Help guide to finding and using images, videos and other multimedia

Anatomy & Physiology

Source Description How can I use it?
Anatomy & Physiology Image Bank - University of Minnesota

Basic images relating to anatomy and physiology.
  • Patient Handouts
  • Training Materials
  • Presentations
  • MyLearning (see rules)
  • Clinical Guidelines
  • Must acknowledge source

Cardiology

Source Description How can I use it?
ECG Image Index

Hundreds of ECG rhythms, diagrams and pictures from the ECG Learning Centre.
  • Patient Handouts
  • Training Materials
  • Presentations
  • MyLearning (see rules)
  • Clinical Guidelines
  • Must acknowledge source

Dermatology

Source Description How can I use it?
DermIS (Dermatology Information System)

Access images by alphabetic list or by affected region of the body.
  • Patient Handouts
  • Training Materials
  • Presentations
  • MyLearning (see rules)
  • Clinical Guidelines
  • Must acknowledge source
DermNet

DermNet is a world-renowned resource all about the skin. It features a database of thousands of pages covering almost every known skin condition.
  • Patient Handouts
  • Training Materials
  • Presentations
  • MyLearning (see rules)
  • Clinical Guidelines
  • Must acknowledge source

Gastroenterology

Source Description How can I use it?
The Atlas of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy

1,295 endoscopic images.
  • Patient Handouts
  • Training Materials
  • Presentations
  • MyLearning (see rules)
  • Clinical Guidelines
  • Must acknowledge source

Haematology

Source Description How can I use it?
Hematology Image Bank

An extensive online library of screen-sized blood disease images and cases for educational use.
  • Patient Handouts
  • Training Materials
  • Presentations
  • MyLearning (see rules)
  • Clinical Guidelines
  • Must acknowledge source

Miscellaneous

Source Description How can I use it?
Access Medicine

Search across more than 50,000 health and medicine related images.

Tip: Click on the 'Images' tab before doing your search.
  • Patient Handouts
  • Training Materials
  • Presentations
  • MyLearning (see rules)
  • Clinical Guidelines
  • Acknowledge source
Catalog of Clinical Images - University of California

Pictures that are representative of common and uncommon physical exam findings.
  • Patient Handouts
  • Training Materials
  • Presentations
  • MyLearning (see rules)
  • Clinical Guidelines
  • Must acknowledge source
ClinicalKey Provides access to selected medical texts and journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts and more. As above.
Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. As above.
National Institute of General Medical Sciences – Image and Video Gallery Scientific photos, illustrations and videos. As above.
New England Journal of Medicine Images in clinical medicine covering a wide range of specialties including hematology, surgery, dermatology and many more.

As above.
Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine Open-i service of the National Library of Medicine enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections.
  • Patient Handouts
  • Training Materials
  • Presentations
  • MyLearning (see rules)
  • Clinical Guidelines
  • Must acknowledge source
Servier Medical Art Powerpoint Image Bank Provides you with thousands of professionally designed medical graphics covering neurology, bones, physiology, cellular biology and more.
  • Patient Handouts
  • Training Materials
  • Presentations
  • MyLearning (see rules)
  • Clinical Guidelines
  • Modifications allowed
  • Must acknowledge source

Neurology

Source Description How can I use it?
The Human Brain Atlas

Three-dimensional atlas of the human brain created from MRI images. Includes anatomically labeled stained sections that correspond to the three-dimensional MRI images.
The Whole Brain Atlas A selection of images relating to the healthy brain, neoplastic disease, degenerative disease and more.
  • Patient Handouts
  • Training Materials
  • Presentations
  • MyLearning (see rules)
  • Clinical Guidelines
  • Must acknowledge source
NeuroLogic Exam Videos and descriptions presenting the anatomical foundations of neurologic exams. As above.

Oncology

Source Description How can I use it?
NCI Visuals Online

Biomedical, science, and patient-care related illustrations and images.

Labelled either "Public Domain" (free to use for any purpose) or "Copyright Protected" (restricted, obtain permission before use).

Ophthalmology

Source Description How can I use it?
NEI (National Eye Institute) Photos and Images

Search for photos, images and videos including anatomy and diseases of the eye, research, and diagnostic treatment and conditions of the eye.
  • Patient Handouts
  • Training Materials
  • Presentations
  • MyLearning (see rules)
  • Clinical Guidelines
  • Must acknowledge source
The Neuro-Ophthalmology Virtual Education Library Digital repository of images, video, lectures, articles and animations relating to neuro-ophthalmology. As above.

Pathology

Source Description How can I use it?
Pathology Education Informational Resource (PEIR) Digital Library

A multidisciplinary public access image database for use in medical education.
  • Patient Handouts
  • Training Materials
  • Presentations
  • MyLearning (see rules)
  • Clinical Guidelines
  • Must acknowledge source
WebPath The Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education. As above.

Public Health

Source Description How can I use it?
Parasite Image Library (DPDx)

Developed and maintained by the US Center for Disease Control's Division of Parasitic Diseases (DPD).
  • Patient Handouts
  • Training Materials
  • Presentations
  • MyLearning (see rules)
  • Clinical Guidelines
  • Must acknowledge source
Public Health Image Library Database contains photos, images and video. Includes electron micrographic imagery and images associated with influenza, bioterrorism, natural disasters and environmental health.

As above.

3D graphical representation of a generic influenza virion’s ultrastructure, CDC Public Health Image Library

Putting it online

While these images may be used for the purposes stated, in most cases they should not be uploaded to internet sites where they can be viewed by the public.

In general, uploading into a secure system such as the Policy Guideline Centre (PGC) or MyLearning is allowed.  See MyLearning rules.