About NT Health Research and Publications Online
NT Health Research and Publications Online (NTHRPO or “the repository”) is the open access, institutional repository of the Northern Territory Department of Health (NT Health). It was established in 2008 and showcases the research projects and output of researchers working for NT Health, while also collecting and preserving publications and multimedia produced by the department. The repository is maintained by NT Health Library Services, sitting alongside and complimenting the library’s long-standing print and electronic collections.
Items in the repository are accessible to anyone and are discoverable by search engines such as Google.
Learn more:
Purpose
The key purposes of the repository are:
- To provide perpetual access to NT Health’s digital and digitised outputs that are intended for the public;
- To act as a digital archive for historical NT Health publications that have been digitised from print;
- To act as a publishing platform for NT Health periodicals and current practice documents such as the NT Disease Control Bulletin and the Remote Health Atlas;
- To meet the department’s Legal Deposit1 obligations for digital publications by ensuring NT Health publications are distributed to the National Library of Australia via the National eDeposit scheme;
- To assist with meeting the open-access requirements of research funders such as the Australian Research Council, and the National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia for publications arising from research projects supported by their grants;
- To assist departmental staff and researchers to develop their research profile and manage their research outputs by providing a public facing, secure and long term archive;
- To capture, organise, and share the research output of NT Health staff.
1. Legal Deposit covers all NT Health publications intended for a general / public audience (e.g. annual reports, strategic frameworks, CDC Bulletin, factsheets etc.)
About the collections
There are three overarching principles that govern the inclusion of items in the repository. These are:
- The item was produced by NT Health (or one of its previous entities) and was intended for a public audience; OR
- It is an historical item with research value that was produced by NT Health (or one of its previous entities); OR
- In the case of research output, the item was produced by an NT Health staff member who included NT Health in their author affiliation per the Publication of Research NT Health Policy.
The repository contains two main collections - the General Repository, and the NT Health Research collection - and also hosts a number of smaller, specialised collections.
Choose a collection below to learn more:
